Christine Beattie Award

Christine Beattie

About the Award

In 2019, through generous donations from many friends and colleagues, The International Zebrafish Society (IZFS) established the Christine Beattie Award, recognizing the commitment Dr. Christine Beattie had to training the next generation. The travel award supports postdoctoral fellows and/or graduate students who have demonstrated research excellence in any area of zebrafish research to attend the annual International Zebrafish Conference (IZFC).

Christine Beattie (1965 – 2018) was a developmental neurobiologist who made numerous contributions to the understanding of neuromuscular development and disease using the zebrafish model. During her postdoctoral years with Judith Eisen at the University of Oregon, Christine began working on zebrafish motoneuron development, research she continued as an independent investigator at The Ohio State University. There, Christine expanded her studies to understand how motor axons are disrupted in neuromuscular disease, specifically Spinal Muscular Atrophy (SMA), and developed one of the most genetically accurate zebrafish models of a human disease.

Who the Award Recognizes

IZFS members who are postdoctoral fellows in the first three years of their training and/or graduate students who, at the time of the meeting, are about to start their 3rd year (or greater) of graduate school are eligible to apply.

Awardees will be selected from among those whose abstracts have been accepted for an oral or poster presentation during the International Zebrafish Conference (IZFC) with special consideration being given to trainees doing research in developmental neurobiology and/or neuromuscular disease.

Who Can Submit Nominations?

IZFS members may self-nominate for this award

General Nomination Procedures

Self-nominations should be submitted by email with the subject line, "Christine Beattie Award" to The email should include a single PDF file that contains:

  1. Cover letter (1 page or less)
  2. CV
  3. Submitted abstract
  4. Letter of recommendation from current advisor.

Award Winner Expectations

  • Award recipient is expected to be in attendance at the IZFC.
  • IZFS has the right to use the award recipient’s photo and information for promotional purposes.

Awardee Will Receive

  • A personalized certificate
  • Free registration to the next International Zebrafish Conference
  • Recognition on IZFS website

Important Dates

Nominations are generally accepted annually in March-April, with awardees being notified in May

Christine Beattie Award Recipients

2022 - Yunlu Zhu
NYU Langone Medical Center, New York, USA

2021 - Jessica Stock
Research Institute of Molecular Pathology (IMP), Vienna, Austria

2020 - Hector Sanchez-Iranzo
European Molecular Biology Laboratory, Heidelberg, Germany

2019 - Laura Desban
Institut du Cerveau et de la Moelle épinière (ICM), France

Cookie Notice

This website uses cookies to deliver to you the best experience possible on the IZFS website. By continuing to use this site, you are providing to us your consent to ensure you receive such an experience. View our privacy policy to learn more.