Chi-Bin Chien Award

Christine Beattie

About the Award

The Chi-Bin Chien Award was established by the zebrafish research community and the International Zebrafish Society (IZFS) in memory of Dr. Chi-Bin Chien. The award recognizes outstanding graduate students, postdoctoral trainees, or recently appointed faculty members from any country who have made significant contributions to the field of zebrafish research and have exhibited the generosity and openness that characterized and motivated Chi-Bin Chien.

Chi-Bin Chien (1965-2011) was Professor of Neurobiology and Anatomy at the University of Utah and served the international zebrafish community in numerous ways, including his service as Director of the Zebrafish Neural Development and Genetics Course at the Woods Hole Marine Biological Laboratory and as an organizer of the International Conference on Zebrafish Genetics and Development. The award celebrates Chi-Bin Chien's enthusiasm and love for the discussion of scientific ideas and the good things that grow out of interactions and open discourse among scientists, his efforts to mentor and support the development of young scientists, and the collaborative and generous spirit with which he contributed to advance research with the zebrafish.

Who the Award Recognizes

Graduate students, postdoctoral trainees, or recently appointed faculty members from any country.

Who Can Submit Nominations?

Members of the zebrafish community are invited to submit nominations for the Chi-Bin Chien Award if they are a PhD or post-doctoral mentor.

General Nomination Procedures

Nominations should be submitted by e-mail with the subject line “Chi-Bin Chien Award” to The email should include a single PDF file that contains:

  1. A one-page statement from the nominee describing his/her research and its importance to the advancement of zebrafish research.
  2. The nominee's CV
  3. Letter of recommendation from the mentor.
  4. Letter of recommendation from one additional scholar who is familiar with the research being described in the application

Award Winner Expectations

  • Award recipient is expected to present a talk during a plenary session at the IZFC (30 mins)
  • IZFS has the right to use the award recipient’s photo and information for promotional purposes

Awardee Will Receive

  • A personalized framed award certificate
  • Award in the amount of $500
  • Travel Award
  • Recognition on the IZFS website

Important Dates

Nominations are generally accepted annually in January with awardees being notified in March.

Chi-Bin Chien Award Recipients

2023 Winner - Peter Fabian, PhD
Masaryk University, Brno, Czech Republic

2022 Winner - Jared Talbot, PhD
University of Maine, USA

2021 Winner - Rashmi Priya, PhD
Francis Crick Institute, London, UK

2020 Winner - Margot Williams, PhD
Baylor College of Medicine, USA

2019 Winner - Jeffrey Farrell, Ph.D.
National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, USA

2018 Winner - Lindsey Barske, PhD, 
University of Southern California, USA

2017 Winner - Marc Wolman, PhD
University of Wisconsin, USA

2016 Winner - Adam Miller, PhD
University of Oregon, USA

2014 Winner - Andrea Pauli, PhD
The Research Institute of Molecular Pathology, Austria

2012 Winner - David Kokel, PhD
University of California San Francisco, USA

Cookie Notice

This website uses cookies to deliver to you the best experience possible on the IZFS website. By continuing to use this site, you are providing to us your consent to ensure you receive such an experience. View our privacy policy to learn more.