Member News

*IZFS member names are in bold

Sincere thanks to @ZebrafishRock for help via the #DanioDigest.  Follow them on Twitter for up to the moment Zebrafish community news!

  • Dr. Christiane Nüsslein-Volhard (Max Planck Institute for Developmental Biology) was awarded an honorary doctorate by Universitat Pompeu Fabra (UPF) – Barcelona.
  • Dr. Nadia Mercader Huber (Universität Bern) elected Member of the Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences.
  • Dr. Victoria E. Prince (University of Chicago) is President-Elect of the Society for Developmental Biology.
  • Dr. Julia Horsfield (University of Otago) awarded the 2021 New Zealand Society of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Research Excellence Prize.
  • Dr. Gerald Downes and Dr. ChangHui Pak (University of Massachusetts, Amherst) were awarded the 2021 Armstrong Fund for Science award.
  • Dr. Megan Martik (UC Berkeley) and Sarah Ackerman (Washington University) named Leading Edge Faculty Fellows.
  • Dr. Dan Wagner (University of California, San Francisco) and Chi-Kuo Hu (Stony Brook University) awarded NIH Director’s New Innovator Awards.
  • Dr. Megan Martik (UC Berkeley) receives an American Heart Association Career Development Award.
  • Gabriel Luna-Arvizu (University of Oregon) has received a HHMI Gilliam Fellowship for Advanced Study for his graduate studies with Dr. Daniel Grimes.
  • Erica Quezada wins best presentation award in the area of Life and Biomedical Sciences at UTEP COURI Symposia. She and fellow author Hope Lopez were mentored by Dr. Anita Quintana (University of Texas, El Paso)
  • Dr. Marnie Halpern (Dartmouth Geisel School of Medicine) named Andrew Thomson, Jr., MD 1946 Professor.
  • Dr. David Raible (University of Washington) appointed Virginia Merrill Bloedel Chair in Basic Hearing Science as of July 1, 2021.
  • Dr. Erin Schuman (Max Planck Institute for Brain Research) appointed Vallee Visiting Professor by the Vallee Foundation.
  • Carrie Barton (University of Utah) named as Associate Director of Centralized Zebrafish Animal Resource (CZAR).
  • Dr. Serge Mostowy (London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine) and Dr. James Amatruda (University of Southern California, Keck School of Medicine) named to the Disease Models and Mechanisms Editorial team.
  • Dr. Charles Kaufman (Washington University) is featured in St. Louis Magazine.
  • Chey Chapman (University London, Royal Veterinary College) won the ‘ecological development biology’ award in the 2021 Ecology and Evolution Image Competition sponsored by BMC journal with her photo of a regenerating zebrafish tail.
  • Jennifer A. Manner won the Award for Best Documentary Short 2021, USA, for her film “Zebrafish:  Practically People, Transforming the Study of Disease” at the 4th European Film Festival Geneva.
  • Dr. Anita Quintana (University of Texas, El Paso) promoted to Associate Professor with Tenure.
  • Dr. Beck J. Richardson (University of Bristol) promoted to Senior Lecturer.
  • Dr. Cody J. Smith (University of Notre Dame) promoted to Associate Professor.
  • Dr. Phil Abitua will join the University of Washington as an Assistant Professor.
  • Dr. Sarah Ackerman will join Washington University School of Medicine Pathology as an Assistant Professor.
  • Dr. Oana Birceanu will join Western University as an Assistant Professor.
  • Dr. Vincent Maiolo will join Université de Strasbourg as an Assistant Professor.
  • Dr. Angie Serrano will join Center for Regenerative Medicine at Boston University School of Medicine as an Assistant Professor.
  • Dr. Delia Shelton will join the University of Miami as an Assistant Professor.

Would you like to have your news featured here? Did we miss something?  Please send any community news to for publication in our next newsletter.

Cookie Notice

This website uses cookies to deliver to you the best experience possible on the IZFS website. By continuing to use this site, you are providing to us your consent to ensure you receive such an experience. View our privacy policy to learn more.